Murphy’s Law (Dog attack style)

I ran into Plain Jane today, not literally like last time. Today her blue eyes were open and she saw me coming with Xena (Mom’s little rat dog). She tried to change her course and cross the street, almost getting Hasselhoff Huskey (her Siberian Huskey) run over by a car.

I don’t know what it is about self-conscious people but they make me feel more confident about myself. Normally I would just avoid girls, but I said ‘hi’ to Jane. She looked nervous and too shy to talk, which makes me the brave one.
I was heading for Amy’s house, a bit of a long walk for Xena and me, but the anticipation of seeing Amy again (gardening in her peach tank top or tanning on the front lawn) was plenty motivation enough.

So anyway, while Jane and I were awkwardly “saying hi”, HH (Hasselhoff Huskey) was sniffing Xena. It seemed friendly enough, HH sniffing, Xena cowering away (her customary socializing skill). I was thinking of what to say to Jane and didn’t notice HH turn hostile until he was in full attack mode. I heard a high pitched yelping sound come out of Xena, unlike any sound I’ve ever heard come out of an animal before, I didn’t even know it was her at first.

It was all happening in slow motion. HH bearing his teeth, me lifting Xena off the ground by the leash to get her away from HH’s teeth, dangling her in the air (don’t tell my mom), me kicking HH in the face with my DC shoes so he wouldn’t jump up and bite Xena, but he wouldn’t lay off. When I realized I was “hanging” Xena I lowered her to the ground and HH went at her again. Jane wasn’t doing a great job of restraining her dog, she just froze up, but when she finally snapped out of her shock she got a hold of HH by the collar and held him back. I was hanging poor Xena by the leash again, without noticing it, then I took her into my arms and she was shaking like crazy.

Jane was apologizing but all I was thinking about was Xena and if she was okay, so I wasn’t really registering anything else. There was blood on her rat fur and I was worried about dog shock and dog heart attacks. You see, Mom bought Xena after dad left, for a lot of money, to fill some sort of emotional void I guess, and she’s loves this ugly dog, like a baby. I think she wanted to have another baby, one of the many things that she and dad never agreed on, including getting a dog, but now Mom’s never going to have a real baby and Xena’s all she’s got. So Xena, ulgy and all, is not just another dog.

But Xena is okay now. She finally stopped shaking at some point during our movie marathon this afternoon. I never did walk to Amy’s house, but that’s okay. I have something to look forward to next time we go for a walk.

-Peace

Leave a Reply

