I’m not really a princess…

I like to think of my life as a Cinderella story, only opposite. My two older sisters are not step-sisters but real sisters, although you wouldn’t know it by looking at me and them. They are twins, tall, blonde, beautiful and cheerful. I’m short, have dark hair, glasses and I’m not cheerful. Alright I suppose naturally I have dirty blonde hair, and I’m actually quite giddy and cheerful, on the inside. But I choose to keep my expression monotone for the sake of having to explain my good mood to others who want to share in it, no, others who want to suck all my cheerfulness up for themselves, like leeches. And I suppose I should tell you that I don’t even really need glasses. I wear fashion glasses because I can ‘hide’ behind them. Why? Because I’m an introvert. Not one of those negative, moody introverts, but rather someone with her own inner world who finds the outer world distracting, unnecessary and not to mention physically, emotionally and spiritually draining. I don’t know anyone else who is like this except my friend DC. I don’t bother explaining it to people, I noticed that most people don’t want to listen, they just want to suggest ways they think I could change my outlook on life.

My mom is not an evil stepmother. She’s a really loving ‘real’ mother. She even seems to understand I need a lot of space and time alone, but she thinks it’s because I want to go to Harvard. In reality I don’t need a lot of time to study, I do most of my homework and studying at school. There’s lots of extra time in school to catch up on your work, if you’re not distracted by drama and annoying friends. Besides, it isn’t as hard for me to internalize all the science, math and social studies information as it is for my sisters, who are extroverts. They think I’m being a martyr for my dream to attend Harvard. And it’s just better that way, because all I get is a blank stare when I try to explain to them I enjoy being alone. Vanessa is in volley ball, dance classes, on Students’ Council and has a boyfriend. Exhausting! Janessa is on the yearbook committee, top reporter at the school newspaper and works tirelessly at interviewing people for her documentaries she likes to make. Janessa understands me a little bit more than Vanessa, but Janessa still needs external forces to feed off of. All I need is a quiet room, and sometimes music is nice.

12 thoughts on “I’m not really a princess…

  1. It is strange and interesting to hear why people are the way they are. You see people walking in the hallway, and never know why they dress the way they do, walk the way they do, or interact with others the way that they do

    • you’re right! I suppose its not nice to stereotype people by the way they dress, etc. but stereotypes can be useful if you want to be treated a certain way, like dressing professional for a job interview, or dressing in a brooding way when you want to be left alone by the general public. If I had money I’d dress funky and punky 😀

  2. You’re not alone, I’ve found in life there are plenty others like us who prefer our own company! I’ve always been a bit of a loner, especially when I was at school, and in later years hid my social awkwardness with alcohol and drugs.. not good. Great post and I wish you all the best with your dream of going to Harvard 🙂

    • wow I never saw this comment until now! I guess I am internet challenged! Thanks for leaving comments 😀 I think blogging is great because a lot of introspective(?) people write and read blogs and people who maybe don’t want to be social in the outside world. I find socializing draining. I also find getting used to a new internet page like wordpress (buttons and options, ect) drainingm especially with my slow and tiny laptop which probably runs slower than cell phones do now-a-days, but I’ve always wanted to start a blog so YAY I did it!

  3. Pingback: The Gift In The Box | characterblogger

  4. Pingback: Sneaking A Boy Into The House 1.0 | characterblogger

  5. Pingback: Sneaking A Boy Into the House 2.0 | characterblogger

  6. Pingback: Meeting my online crush for the first time… | characterblogger

  7. Pingback: The Longing That Burns Inside His Heart… | characterblogger

  8. Pingback: The Easiest Way To Chat With A Boy | characterblogger

  9. Pingback: From The Beginning… | characterblogger

Leave a Reply

